Uncategorized

Happy pancake day!

images-7

 

Every year I have pancakes on Shrove Tuesday and every year I wonder why on earth I don’t have them throughout the rest of the year, not only are they tasty, they are so quick, easy and cheap.

The other thing Shrove Tuesday signifies to me is the fact that Lent starts tomorrow.  I am not religious, (other than a trip to church on Christmas Eve for midnight mass, but that’s to sing carols really!) but I like to observe Lent every year, this is probably because my diet includes far too many unhealthy foods throughout the year, so for me it is a good excuse to give my body 40 days of respite !

So from tomorrow I will be giving up crisps, sweets and chocolate 😦 I have to give up all three because if I didn’t I would just substitute one for the other!!  I’ll be honest my consumption of cake does go up a bit but nothing too serious!!

So today I will enjoy pancakes, some chocoloate and probably a bag of crisps, just to get my fix until Lent has finished!

Do you give anything up for Lent? If so what?

P.S. My pancakes simply have sugar and fresh orange squashed on them, mmmm delicious!

Leave a Reply

