Uncategorized

Inspiration, where does it come from?

After the impromptu trip to Lincoln Cathedral yesterday I found some inspiration for my next dyeing session (although I am a few days off that with the house upside, what with all the decorating) The first thing I noticed when I walked in was the light on the stone floor beaming in through the beautiful windows.

The colours had been diluted but the way they blurred and mixed together was captivating, I could have stood and watched them for a long time.

I want to experiment with diluting the bright colours I usually work with and see if i can recreate these photos.

I have enjoyed making things for years but I lot of what I had tried (card making, scrap booking, baking, sewing, knitting, crocheting the list goes on!) has been an imitation of other peoples work, I have seen something that has already been made and tried to make that or an adaptation of a theme.  So I have never really understood artists when they say that they take inspiration from anywhere. However I am starting to feel exactyl what they are talking about, it’s not about seeing a flower, or a stained glass window and trying to recreate it in a different medium, it’s about  seeing the colours in that flower or window and using them to inspire your creation.

Images, objects and colours that touch you or move you, that’s where my inspiration comes from.

I walked into the Cathedral and saw those colours on the floor and automatically thought about dyeing yarn, it wasn’t a conscious decision it was a feeling a reaction within me that was completely involuntary and it was energizing.

I mean that I am exhausted at the minute, just because of lots of things happening all at once, but just looking at these photos I feel happy and I feel a reserve of energy that I didn’t realise was there.  If I could get into my kitchen and get to my yarn and dyes I would be in there dyeing right now.

It is quite a powerful emotion, inspiration, and I don’t think I have genuinely felt it in the past, I hope this feeling continues and I look forward to opening my eyes and mind to the wonderful world around us.

What’s your inspiration?

Leave a Reply

