Dyeing · wool

Yarn dyeing again!

After a few weeks of not being able to dye, I was desperate to get back in the kitchen and get my creativity going again.  So last night, I found myself with a spare hour and I took advantage and got my dyes out.  I use Jacquard acid dyes and used Spruce, Cherry red, Chartreuse and Purple.  The wool in this pot was dyed using a mix of 1/5th teaspoon dye to 100ml water for each colour.  The colours were more vibrant than the photo shows.IMG_1188.JPG

The other skein I hand painted, I used the same colours (expect I swapped the purple for the burnt orange) but mixed 1/8th teaspoon to 100ml water so the colours were more muted.  I painted quite narrow stripes so the repeat is frequent.  I’m really pleased with the result (the skein on the left)

 

IMG_1189

The hand painted skein is on the left and the other one is on the left.  I am really pleased with the way that have turned, I will take a better picture in daylight tomorrow, I was being impatient as I wanted to show you the results.

They will both be available to buy from my shop in the next day or so, (depending on when I get time to add them!)

What do you think of the colourway?

 

Leave a Reply

